Raritan Organizations and Municipalities

Organizations

Raritan Riverkeeper www.nynjbaykeeper.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=63&Itemid=70

Sustainable Raritan River Initiative www.raritan.rutgers.edu

NJWSA Raritan Basin Watershed Alliance www.raritanbasin.org/alliance.html

Raritan Headwaters Association www.raritanheadwaters.org/

Edison Wetlands Association www.edisonwetlands.org/about/

Middlesex County Parks www.co.middlesex.nj.us/parksrecreation/parks.asp

Somerset County Parks www.somersetcountyparks.org/parksFacilities/ParksFacilities.html

Crossroads of the American Revolution www.revolutionarynj.org/

Association of NJ Environmental Commissions www.anjec.org

NY/NJ Harbor Estuary Program, USEPA www.harborestuary.org

[back to top]

Lower Raritan Municipalities

(North Branch/South Branch Confluence to the Raritan Bay)

Middlesex County

East Brunswick Township www.eastbrunswick.org
Edison Township www.edisonnj.org
Highland Park Borough www.hpboro.com
Middlesex Borough www.middlesexboro.com
New Brunswick City http://thecityofnewbrunswick.org
Perth Amboy City http://ci.perthamboy.nj.us/
Piscataway Township www.piscatawaynj.org
Sayreville Borough www.sayreville.com
Woodbridge Township www.twp.woodbridge.nj.us

Somerset County

Bound Brook Borough www.boundbrook-nj.org
Bridgewater Township www.bridgewaternj.gov
Franklin Township www.franklintwpnj.org
Hillsborough Township www.hillsborough-nj.org
Manville Borough www.manvillenj.org
Raritan Borough www.raritanboro.org
South Bound Brook www.sbbnj.com
Somerville Borough www.somervillenj.org

[back to top]

Resources for Municipalities

Lower Raritan river municipalities and their environmental commissions, open space/trails committees, recreation or even health departments have a role to play in raising residents’ awareness of the river corridor as a local recreational and ecological resource. They can do this through outreach and education, as well as by incorporating the Raritan into municipal programs and events, land use and preservation plans, and the municipal Environmental Resource Inventory.

Outreach/Education

ANJEC developed a set of color 20” x 30” posters that are suitable for displays and exhibits at community events, Earth Day and street fairs, or for display at the town library, community center, municipal building or schools. To view the poster content, click on its thumbnail:

Poster A Poster B Poster C

A color brochure that complements the posters is also available, either as a pdf file or in limited quantities on paper.

ANJEC may be able to supply limited quantities of other related handouts, or can advise on where to obtain them. For a reproducible flyer on Riverkeeper kayak tours, click here.

Lower Raritan municipalities or organizations that wish to borrow a full display for an event, or to obtain a set of the 20 x 30 posters to keep, contact ANJEC at info@anjec.org.

[back to top]